CBF Charities Board of Directors


Ed Marley

President – representing AIA
Ed Marley, AIA, Swaim Associates, Ltd.

Ed Marley provides the team with a broad range of experience including wellness, healthcare, military, religious, and higher education projects. He has developed a national reputation for his work in the programming and design of university health centers. Ed has made several presentations to the American College Health Association on the planning and design of health centers, with an emphasis on collaborative mental and physical health care models.  Ed joined Swaim Associates in 1983 and became a principal in 1992.

CBFC Vice-President
ABA Representative
Mark Riggi
Millwork by Design

Born and raised in Tucson and a Cabinetmaker for over 30 years.  Millwork By Design started in January of 2002.  MBD manufactures and installs mainly commercial architectural millwork and custom casework in southern Arizona.

Treasurer – representing CBF
Susan Schaefer Kliman, PhD., AIA
Klimatic Architecture

Susan Schaefer Kliman is a native Tucsonan with over 30 years of experience in professional practice, academia, and service. Dr. Kliman is currently serving as Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Architecture & Urban Sustainability and Co-Director of the Center for Architectural Innovation and Building Science at the University of the District of Columbia. She also maintains a small practice, Klimatic Architecture, which has focused on high performance, climate responsive architecture for 25 years. She has dedicated her career to the development of the next generation of architects, and has a long-standing commitment to equity and diversity in the profession.

CBFC Directors

ABA Representative
Mike Goodwin
Climatec LLC

Mike has Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from ASU.  He has worked at Climatec for 19 years and currently leads the Service Division in Tucson.  He is the Chairman of ABA Workforce Development, a LDF Graduate 2012, a Member of Good Scout Committee since 2013, an ASHRAE member since 2012, and Member of the Marana Education Committee.  Mike enjoys coaching and mentoring young adults.

Katharine Kent

NAWIC Representative
Katharine Kent
The Solar Store

Katharine J. Kent is President of The Solar Store. She has a BS in Chemical Engineering, a MS in Nuclear and Energy Engineering, and a MBA. She is a licensed professional engineer and a certified energy manager. She holds plumbing and electrical contractor’s licenses. The first woman to obtain three NABCEP certifications: PV and Solar Thermal Installer’s and Professional Technical Sales.

Joseph Maher

AIA Representative
Joseph Maher, Jr., AIA

Joseph is celebrating 34 years with his own architectural firm which specializes in commercial, residential, and child/adult disabled care. Custom sustainable homes and additions are a favorite. He has 25 years and over 10,000 hours donated to city, county, and AIA committees to benefit our community. He offers personal service with a passionate approach.

CSI Representative

ACEC Representative


Brent Davis

Executive Director
Brent L. Davis

Cathy Wagner

Assistant Executive Director
Cathy Wagner